“Depression has led to unknown demand”

interview ceo schiller

Unsplash/Noel Broda

The past year has been dominated by the Corona pandemic. By now, several vaccines are giving reason to hope that the situation will return to normal. We spoke with Stephan Schiller, CEO of Hermes International, a division of Hermes Germany, about the lessons learned from 2020, the international movement of goods and the importance of logistics.

Mr. Schiller, in the recent past, there has not been a global challenge like the Corona pandemic. As studies show, many companies were surprised by the effects. How is Hermes International emerging from the situation? What are the lessons learned – and are there positive aspects? 

At Hermes International, we serve almost all logistics segments: from air and sea freight, to rail and truck, to global e-commerce. That is why we have experienced all stages of the pandemic – or are still in the middle of it. What started with a major depression in March has turned into unknown demand, with huge implications for pricing structure and capacity.

Therefore, my first learning is: There is nothing that doesn’t exist – or that is not possibly bound to come. For us as service providers, it is therefore even more important now to provide answers to questions that do not yet exist. That is an exciting task and what makes this industry so unique.

At Hermes International, did you notice any changes in customer demand in connection with the pandemic? If so, which services were in greater demand?

The entire processes in e-commerce are currently running at a very high level. In principle, no process and no mode of transport is exempt. Only air freight is struggling with its very own structural challenges, as international passenger traffic has not yet returned to full capacity.

Starting with procurement logistics from the markets up to the last mile, we are active in all of these disciplines. Our expertise and services are currently in high demand in all areas. A fact that we are naturally pleased about.

Stephan Schiller, CEO Hermes International and Managing Director der Hermes Europe GmbH.

Online retail sales, which were already on the rise, once again increased significantly during the pandemic: The German Federal Statistical Office reports that the industry generated a year-on-year increase in sales of 22.9 percent in August 2020. Will this development continue? And what does this mean for the international goods traffic?

Online trade, or global e-commerce, has once again gained immense momentum, and the pandemic is acting as a turbo engine. This development is irreversible and will continue, although I expect growth rates to decline slightly.

The shift from off- to online has now reached every demographic. It is forcing retailers to strengthen their online services in order to remain competitive. Retailers who have been able to adapt quickly to the changing environment have already benefited from the situation brought upon by the pandemic. Some of our customers were able to more than compensate for the loss of sales during the first lockdown with increased online sales.

In the future, the international goods traffic will be geared even more strongly to online trade, and against this backdrop, the resilient design of the supply chain will become an important competitive factor. In addition, I hope that the sustainability issue will become more relevant in the alignment of supply chains.

It seems that the appreciation of logistics processes and the importance of logistics have increased significantly in recent months. Do you agree with this assessment?

Without logistics, the shift from off- to online would not have been possible. As a result, we are currently experiencing that the importance of logistics has increased in perception. The question of how sustainable this development is taking place remains. After all, at the same time, the market as a whole is characterized by high cost pressure. Many companies therefore still primarily see logistics as a cost driver. However, the last few months have shown impressively that logistics can be an important enabler.

Various vaccines are currently entering the market. Hopes of a “return to normality” are growing. For the “New Normal” state, the return to regional production sites or the maintenance of regional storage capacities, among other things, have been propagated. What long-term effects do you expect from the pandemic, in terms of production and logistics?

The experience of the past few months may result in a broader set-up of supply chains: Greater diversification in sourcing structures, in terms of geography as well as suppliers, and possibly larger temporary inventories could be the result.

Ultimately, the respective behavior of companies will depend heavily on the products. Pharmaceutical products, clothing, electronics – the requirements vary widely and will demand very individual solutions. Here, too, logistics and efficient supply chain management will once again play a crucial role.

Mr. Schiller, thank you for the interview and we wish you all the best.

 

Related posts

Scroll Up

„Die Depression hat sich zu einer nie gekannten Nachfrage gedreht“

interview ceo schiller

Unsplash/Noel Broda

Das vergangene Jahr war geprägt durch die Virus-Pandemie. Nun machen gleich mehrere Impfstoffe Hoffnung auf eine Normalisierung der Lage. Wir sprachen mit Stephan Schiller, CEO von Hermes International, einem Geschäftsbereich von Hermes Germany, über die Learnings aus 2020, den internationalen Warenverkehr sowie den Stellenwert der Logistik.

Herr Schiller, eine globale Herausforderung wie die Corona-Pandemie gab es in der jüngeren Vergangenheit nicht. Wie Studien zeigen wurden viele Unternehmen von den Auswirkungen überrascht. Wie geht Hermes International aus der Situation hervor? Welche positiven Aspekte können Sie aus der Krise mitnehmen – was sind die Learnings? 

Wir von Hermes International bedienen fast alle Logistik-Segmente: von der Luft- und Seefracht, über Bahn und LKW bis hin zum globalen E-Commerce. Daher haben wir alle Stadien der Pandemie miterlebt – beziehungsweise sind noch mittendrin. Was mit einer großen Depression im März gestartet ist, hat sich zu einer nie gekannten Nachfrage gedreht, mit enormen Auswirkungen auf die Preisstruktur und Kapazitäten.

Daher ist mein erstes Learning: Es gibt nichts was es nicht gibt – oder was eventuell noch kommen kann. Für uns als Dienstleister gilt daher, mehr noch als vor der Pandemie, Antworten auf Fragestellungen bereitzuhalten, die es noch gar nicht gibt. Das ist eine spannende Aufgabe und macht diese Industrie so einzigartig.

Konnten Sie bei Hermes International im Zusammenhang mit der Pandemie eine veränderte Kundennachfrage beobachten? Welche Services oder Dienstleistungen wurden verstärkt nachgefragt?

Die gesamten Prozessschritte im E-Commerce laufen zurzeit auf einem sehr hohen Niveau. Prinzipiell ist kein Prozess und kein Verkehrsträger ausgenommen. Lediglich die Luftfracht hat mit sehr eigenen strukturellen Herausforderungen zu kämpfen, da der internationale  Passagierverkehr noch nicht wieder zurück ist.

Angefangen von der Beschaffungslogistik aus den Märkten bis zur letzten Meile, sind wir in allen Disziplinen vertreten. Unsere Expertise und Dienstleistungen werden aktuell in allen Bereichen stark nachgefragt, worüber wir uns selbstredend freuen.

stephan-schiller
Stephan Schiller, CEO Hermes International und Managing Director der Hermes Europe GmbH.

Die ohnehin steigenden Umsätze im Onlinehandel haben während der Pandemie noch einmal deutlich angezogen: Das Statistische Bundesamt teilt mit, dass die Branche im August 2020 ein Umsatzplus von 22,9 Prozent gegenüber dem Vorjahr erwirtschaften konnte. Wird diese Entwicklung anhalten? Und was bedeutet das für den internationalen Warenverkehr?

Der Onlinehandel bzw. globale E-Commerce hat noch einmal immens an Fahrt hinzugewonnen, die Pandemie wirkt wie ein Turboantrieb. Diese Entwicklung ist unumkehrbar und wird weiterhin anhalten, wenngleich ich davon ausgehe, dass die Wachstumsraten leicht abnehmen werden.

Der Wandel von Off- zu Online hat inzwischen jede Bevölkerungsschicht erreicht. Er zwingt Händler, ihr Online-Angebot zu stärken, um wettbewerbsfähig zu bleiben. Händler, die sich rasch an die wechselnden Rahmenbedingen anpassen konnten, haben bereits von der Pandemie profitieren können. Einige unserer Kunden konnten den Umsatzausfall des ersten Lockdowns mit gestiegenen Online-Umsätzen mehr als kompensieren.

Der internationale Warenverkehr wird sich künftig noch stärker auf den Onlinehandel ausrichten und die resiliente Ausgestaltung der Supply Chain vor dem Hintergrund zu einem wichtigen Wettbewerbsfaktor. Darüber hinaus hoffe ich, dass das Thema Nachhaltigkeit in der Ausrichtung von Lieferketten an Relevanz gewinnt.

Es scheint, als sei die Wertschätzung für logistische Prozesse sowie der Stellenwert der Logistik in den vergangenen Monaten deutlich gestiegen. Teilen Sie diese Einschätzung?

Ohne die Logistik wäre die Verschiebung von Off- zu Online nicht möglich gewesen. In der Folge erleben wir aktuell, dass der Stellenwert der Logistik in der Wahrnehmung gestiegen ist. Die Frage ist, wie nachhaltig dies geschieht. Denn gleichzeitig ist der Markt insgesamt auch durch einen hohen Kostendruck geprägt. Viele Unternehmen sehen die Logistik deshalb noch immer als ein Kostenfaktor. Dabei hat sich nicht zuletzt in den vergangenen Monaten beeindruckend gezeigt, dass die Logistik ein wichtiger Enabler sein kann.

Verschiedene Impstoffe drängen aktuell auf den Markt. Die Hoffnung auf ein „Zurück zur Normalität“ wächst. Für den „New Normal“-Zustand wurden unter anderem die Rückbesinnung auf regionale Produktionsstandorte oder das Vorhalten von regionalen Lagerkapazitäten propagiert. Welche langfristigen Auswirkungen der Pandemie erwarten Sie, im Hinblick auf die Produktion und die Logistik?

Die Erfahrungen der vergangenen Monate werden möglicherweise ein breitere Aufstellung von Lieferketten nachsichziehen: Eine größere Diversifizierung in den Beschaffungsstrukturen, im Hinblick auf Geographie sowie Lieferanten und möglicherweise größere temporäre Lagerbestände könnten die Folge sein.

Letztendlich wird das jeweilige Verhalten der Unternehmen stark von den Produkten abhängen. Pharmaerzeugnisse, Kleidung, Elektronik – die Anforderungen variieren immens und werden sehr individuelle Lösungen erfordern. Auch hier spielt die Logistik und ein effizientes Supply Chain Management erneut eine entscheidende Rolle.

Herr Schiller, wir danken Ihnen für das Gespräch und wünschen Ihnen alles Gute.

 

ÄHNLICHE BEITRÄGE

Scroll Up