Home » Peak Management – Successfully managing demand peaks
peakmanagement

Peak Management – Successfully managing demand peaks

by Editorial Office

Ensuring agility in the supply chain

Optimized peak management is essential in order to benefit from peaks in demand and to satisfy customers in the long term. The goal of any activities should be to ensure that all supply chain processes run smoothly. For peak demand, this means that companies must be able to adapt their processes quickly and flexibly to changing conditions. A certain degree of agility, whether in terms of warehousing, the use of freight capacities or in the selection of transport modes, is an important prerequisite for serving peak demand and operating competitively. “Agile process management should always include human resource planning in addition to pure supply chain processes,” says Ralf Boelicke, Head of Strategic Sales at Hermes International, a division of Hermes Germany.

Forecasting in logistics

Whether seasonal fluctuations or events such as Black Friday – companies should always plan their capacities on the basis of reliable, ideally data-based forecasts. The large-scale evaluation of existing data using Big Data in particular can provide efficient and cost-saving support for those responsible.

If reliable forecasts are not available, companies should adapt as flexibly as possible to different scenarios: Personnel and freight capacities, but also equipment and IT resources should be as flexibly deployable as possible. “Peak management of this kind naturally generates considerable costs,” says Ralf Boelicke, advising companies to rely on a mixture of reliable forecasts and empirical values in order to meet peak demands successfully and cost-effectively.

More posts

Efficient inventory management as a competitive advantage

Logistics managers should also prepare for peak times in the area of inventory management. In the past, many companies have focused on lean production and reducing inventories. Maintaining “just-in-case” safety stocks was considered more of an obstacle to profit due to higher storage costs.

However, against the background of the current pandemic with its numerous effects on the global movement of goods, sound inventory management including well thought-out stockpiling ensures business and delivery capability. Stockpiling, ideally based on precise forecasts, is therefore a decisive competitive advantage (not only) under the current circumstances. “To say that just-in-time has had its day would certainly be too far-fetched,” says Ralf Boelicke. “Rather, it is a matter of finding the right balance – between the greatest possible security on the one hand and the avoidance of costs on the other.” The use of innovative technologies can significantly support those responsible – and thus save costs.

Smart warehousing and diversification: ensuring supply capability

ralf boelicke

Ralf Boelicke – Head of Strategic Sales at Hermes International

Smart warehousing is advantageous in order to ensure delivery capability in the event of demand peaks. However, it is certainly not only a matter of keeping demanded products in stock; the warehouse location is also an important success factor in times of scarce

transport capacities. “It can make sense to keep highly demanded products in buffer warehouses at different locations in order to enable a speedy delivery to the company’s customers,” says Ralf Boelicke.

In general, diversification is a sensible method of avoiding supply bottlenecks, especially in times of high demand. Logistics decision-makers should therefore try to minimize their dependence on individual players. Be it in terms of warehouse locations, supplier companies or means and routes of transport. “Especially in the current climate, with its various restrictions, companies should always have alternatives ready in order to remain capable of acting,” confirms Boelicke.

Peak management for a better business performance

Strategic and holistic peak management not only prevents bottlenecks and delivery delays. The punctual delivery of goods also increases customer satisfaction and, in turn, leads to an improved company performance. Decision-makers responsible should therefore maintain a well-equipped catalog of measures and a transparent supply chain in order to be able to react quickly and agilely to increased demands and to meet the needs and wishes of customers even in turbulent times.

Related Posts

Leave a Comment

* The processing of your personal data takes place in accordance with our privacy policy.

Home Unternehmen Peak Management – Nachfragespitzen erfolgreich managen
peak management

Peak Management – Nachfragespitzen erfolgreich managen

von Redaktion

Ob Weihnachtsgeschäft, E-Commerce-Events oder saisonale Schwankungen: Sowohl im B2C- als auch im B2B-Handel sind Nachfrage-Peaks keine Ausnahme. Doch stellt die erhöhte Nachfrage gesteigerte Anforderungen an Logistik und Fulfillment. Wir geben Tipps, wie Sie Ihr Peak Management erfolgreich aufstellen – und Ihr Potenzial heben.

Agilität in der Supply Chain sicherstellen

Um von Nachfragespitzen zu profitieren und Kund*innen nachhaltig zufriedenzustellen, ist ein optimiertes Peak Management unerlässlich. Ziel aller Aktivitäten sollte es sein, einen reibungsarmen Ablauf aller Supply Chain Prozesse zu gewährleisten. Für Nachfragespitzen heißt dies konkret, dass Unternehmen ihre Abläufe schnell und flexibel an veränderte Rahmenbedingungen anpassen können müssen. Eine gewisse Agilität, sei es im Hinblick auf die Lagerhaltung, die Nutzung von Frachtkapazitäten oder bei der Auswahl der Verkehrsträger, ist eine wichtige Voraussetzung, um Nachfragespitzen zu bedienen und konkurrenzfähig zu wirtschaften. „Ein agiles Prozessmanagement sollte neben den reinen Supply Chain Prozessen auch stets die Personalplanung beinhalten“, sagt Ralf Boelicke, Head of Strategic Sales bei Hermes International, einem Geschäftsbereich von Hermes Germany.

Forecastings in der Logistik

Ob saisonale Schwankungen oder Events wie der Black Friday – Unternehmen sollten ihre Kapazitäten stets auf Basis verlässlicher, im besten Fall datenbasierter Forecastings planen. Gerade die großangelegte Auswertung vorhandener Daten mittels Big Data kann Verantwortliche hier effizient und kostenschonend unterstützen.

Sind verlässliche Forecastings nicht gegeben, sollten sich Unternehmen so flexibel wie möglich auf unterschiedliche Szenarien einstellen: Personal- und Frachtkapazitäten, aber auch Equipment und IT-Ressourcen sollten zu einem hohen prozentualen Anteil flexibel einsetzbar sein. „Ein solches Peak Management verursacht natürlich erhebliche Kosten“, weiß Ralf Boelicke und rät dazu, auf eine Mischung aus zuverlässigen Forecasts und Erfahrungswerten zu setzen, um Nachfragespitzen erfolgreich und kosteneffizient zu bedienen.

Weitere Beiträge

Effizientes Bestandmanagement als Wettbewerbsvorteil

Auch im Bereich des Bestandsmanagements sollten Logistikverantwortliche für Peak-Zeiten vorsorgen. In der Vergangenheit setzten viele Unternehmen auf eine schlanke Produktion und eine Reduktion von Lagerbeständen. Das Führen von Sicherheitsbeständen „Just-in-Case“ galt aufgrund höherer Lagerkosten eher als Gewinnhemmnis.

Vor dem Hintergrund der aktuellen Pandemie mit ihren zahlreichen Auswirkungen auf den globalen Warenverkehr, sichert ein fundiertes Bestandsmanagement inkl. einer durchdachten Bevorratung jedoch die Geschäfts- und Lieferfähigkeit. Eine, idealerweise auf präzisen Forecastings beruhende Bevorratung ist daher (nicht nur) unter den aktuellen Bedingungen ein entscheidender Wettbewerbsvorteil. „Zu sagen das Just-in-Time ausgedient hat, wäre sicher zu weit gegriffen“, sagt Ralf Boelicke „Es gilt vielmehr, die richtige Balance zu finden – zwischen größtmöglicher Absicherung auf der einen und der Vermeidung von Kosten auf der anderen Seite.“ Der Einsatz innovativer Technologien kann Verantwortliche hier maßgeblich unterstützen – und Kosten sparen.

Smarte Lagerhaltung und Diversifikation: Lieferfähigkeit sicherstellen

Um im Falle von Nachfragepeaks die Lieferfähigkeit sicherzustellen, ist eine smarte Lagerhaltung vorteilhaft. Es gilt keineswegs nur darum, nachgefragte Produkte vorzuhalten, auch der Lagerstandort ist in Zeiten verknappter Transportkapazitäten ein wichtiger Erfolgsfaktor. „Es kann sinnvoll sein, stark nachgefragte Produkte in Pufferlagern an verschiedenen Standorten bereitzuhalten, um eine schnelle Belieferung der eigenen Kund*innen zu ermöglichen“, sagt Ralf Boelicke.

Generell ist die Diversifikation auch bzw. gerade in nachfragestarken Zeiten eine sinnvolle Methode, um Lieferengpässe zu vermeiden. Logistikentscheider*innen sollten darauf achten, die Abhängigkeit von einzelnen Akteuren zu minimieren. Sei es im Hinblick auf Lagerstandorte, Zulieferbetriebe oder Verkehrsmittel und -wege. „Vor allem in der aktuellen Zeit, mit ihren diversen Einschränkungen sollten Unternehmen stets Alternativen bereithalten, um handlungsfähig zu bleiben“, bestätigt Boelicke. 

Peak Management für bessere Unternehmensperformance

Ein strategisches und ganzheitliches Peak Management beugt nicht nur Engpässen und Lieferverzögerungen vor. Eine pünktliche Zustellung der Waren erhöht zusätzlich die Kund*innenzufriedenheit und führt im Umkehrschluss zu einer verbesserten Unternehmensperformance. Verantwortliche sollten daher über einen gut ausgestatteten Maßnahmenkatalog sowie eine transparente Lieferkette verfügen, um schnell und agil auf eine verstärkte Nachfrage reagieren und auch in unruhigen Zeiten den Wünschen der Kundschaft nachkommen zu können.

Ähnliche Beiträge

Schreiben Sie einen Kommentar

* Wenn Sie dieses Formular nutzen, stimmen Sie unseren Datenschutzbestimmungen zu.